The North Carolina name change process:
- Get your North Carolina proof of name change document;
- Update the SSA;
- Visit the North Carolina DPS for your North Carolina driver’s license name change;
- You may update your North Carolina voter registration, passport office (if traveling); IRS & USPS if moving; and last,
- Update North Carolina banks, North Carolina utilities, and others here.
Try our North Carolina Name Change Online Tool for Free
Read about the North Carolina name change process:
1. North Carolina Legal Proof of Name Change Documents
North Carolina Marriage Certificate, North Carolina Divorce Certificates & Birth Certificates
You can get all of these through the North Carolina Vital Records office.
In addition to your Marriage Certificate (or Divorce Certificate) you may also want a certified birth certificate. You need to provide your North Carolina birth certificate to the Social Security Administration to demonstrate your U.S. citizenship. If you don’t have a U.S. passport, or an birth certificate, you can get a certified copy at the North Carolina Vital Records office.
Make sure you have a copy of photo ID and complete this NC Vital Record’s certificate application.
You may pay by certified check or money made out to the NC Vital Records. The fee for your first certified copy is $24 and $15 for each additional copy.
The mailing address is:
NC Vital Records
1903 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1903
Note that you may also get your divorce certificate from the court in which the divorce was issued.
3. North Carolina Driver’s License Name Change
North Carolina Driver’s License Name Change
North Carolina state law requires you notify your local DMV of your name change within 60 days of the change.
To do so, you must go in person to your local North Carolina DMV with (1) your old North Carolina ID card or driver’s license (whichever you’re replacing); (2) your North Carolina legal name change certified document; and (3) your $13 fee (it’s also $13 for a North Carolina ID card).
North Carolina Vehicle Title and Registration Name Change
In North Carolina, you need to change it within 60 days too.
You first need to change your name on your driver’s license, so you should call your DMV to see if you can do both and save an extra trip. For example, maybe you can just use the temporary license and
If this works, please confirm it in the comments so we can update it for all our North Carolina users. Thanks in advance!
If you can’t, however, you are allowed to change your name on your title/registration through the mail (not online, unfortunately). If you decide to do it through the mail send it to the following address:
N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699
To change your name on your vehicle’s title bring the same items above (or mail them)—i.e., your NC driver’s license (the updated one); and your NC legal proof of name change. Also, make sure to bring (1) your original vehicle title; (2) a completed MVR-5 form (make sure to have the reading); (3) and if there’s a lien holder, make sure to have a lien release or see if the lien holder can potentially update the title on their end. The fee is $20.
Please note that if you’re moving, you need to change your address on all of these things as well. (see below)
For additional information or questions contact the North Carolina Vital Records at (919) 733-3000, or visit their website.
North Carolina Address Change
If you are moving as well, make sure to change your address with the DMV. You have 60 days here as well. You may think about scheduling everything together if you’re able.
4. North Carolina Voter Registration Name Change, Passport Name Change and/or Address Changes
North Carolina Voter Registration Name Change
Get your Voter Registration name change information. You may be able to do it online!